Board of Directors

A seat on AAA’s Board of Directors is one of the most important and direct ways to serve as a steward of the organization and the anatomical field. The Board is tasked with setting the Association’s strategic plan, acting on behalf of the membership to advance issues of import, and driving the mission forward. Whether as a future Board member or another form of volunteer service to your professional association, learn how you can get involved.

Valerie DeLeon, Ph.D.
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 
Term Ends: 2023

Martine Dunnwald, PharmD, Ph.D.
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
Term Ends: 2023

Past President
Rick Sumner, Ph.D.
Rush University Medical Center
Chicago, IL
Term Ends: 2023

Ralph MarcucioProgram Co-Chair
Ralph Marcucio, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Term Ends: 2022

Joan RichtsmeierProgram Co-Chair
Joan Richtsmeier, Ph.D.
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
Term Ends: 2024

Julia BoughnerDirector
Julia Boughner, Ph.D.
University of Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Term Ends: 2022

Anne BurrowsDirector
Anne Burrows, Ph.D.
Duquesne University
Pittsburgh, PA
Term Ends: 2023

Claudia KrebsDirector
Claudia Krebs, M.D., Ph.D.
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Term Ends: 2023

Samuel Marquez, Ph.D.
SUNY Downstate Health Science University
Brooklyn, NY
Term Ends: 2024

Maria SerratDirector
Maria Serrat, Ph.D.
Marshall University
Huntington, WV
Term Ends: 2022

Lisa Taneyhill, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, College Park
College Park, MD
Term Ends: 2024

Madeleine NorrisStudent/Postdoc Director
Madeleine Norris, Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco 
San Francisco, CA
Term Ends: 2023

Diana RigueurStudent/Postdoc Director
Diana Rigueur, Ph.D.
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
Term Ends: 2022

Bryan GroveSecretary/Treasurer
Bryon Grove, Ph.D.
University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Grand Forks, ND
Term Ends: 2023

Kem RogersPublications Chair (Non-Voting, Ex-Officio)
Kem Rogers, Ph.D.
Western University
London, Ontario (CAN)
Term Ends: 2023