Committee for Early-Career Anatomists (CECA)

Serves to support AAA’s early-career anatomists by acting as the primary evaluator and award granters of undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral research, and early-career awards at the Annual Meeting; chairing and selecting participants for CECA-sponsored sessions; and fostering a network of early-career anatomists.


  • Judging (pre-judging and onsite judging) and managing the Student/Postdoc and Early-Career awards program the Annual Meeting.
  • Members are required to attend the Annual Meeting; they receive complimentary registration, reimbursement for up to $750 of travel expenses, and a complimentary ticket to the Closing Awards Ceremony.


  • Be a member in good standing
  • Provide a CV and brief synopsis of why you are interested in serving and how you might contribute to addressing committee responsibilities
  • Additional information, such as a letter of reference, may be requested



NameCompanyThru Date
Victoria RoachUniversity of Washington4/30/2022


NameCompanyThru Date
Stefanie AttardiOakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine4/30/2024
Danielle Brewer-DeluceWestern University4/30/2023
Melissa CarrollGeorge Washington University4/30/2022
Keely CassidyUniversity of Nebraska Medical Center4/30/2022
Laura DyerUniversity of Portland4/30/2023
Ellen FricanoWestern University of Health Sciences4/30/2023
Emily GilbertUniversity of Toronto4/30/2024
Derek HarmonUniversity of California - San Francisco4/30/2022
Edgar MeyerUniversity of Mississippi Medical Center4/30/2023
Sumitra MiriyalaLouisiana State University - Shreveport4/30/2022
Aaron MurrayUniversity of Nottingham4/30/2023
Geoffroy NoelUniversity of California - San Diego4/30/2024
Stephen RenaudWestern University4/30/2022
Alexandra WinkBoston University4/30/2024
Alexandra ZachwiejaUniversity of Minnesota4/30/2024


  • The committee shall hold conference calls as needed and meets daily during the Annual Meeting.
  • The committee is responsible for reviewing and scoring 125-150 abstracts 2-3 weeks after the EB abstract deadline (end of December and beginning of January) during a 2-3 week time period.


  • The committee shall consist of 14-16 postdoctoral fellows or junior faculty.
  • The chair serves on the Program Committee.
  • A representative serves on the Educational Affairs Committee.
  • In recruiting and appointing members, consideration will be given to diversity in scientific and educational research areas and geographic location.
  • Committee members are not eligible to compete in or receive a Student/Postdoc or Early-Career Travel Award.

Appointment Process

  • Following review of volunteer applicants from the membership, the chair will make recommendations to leadership for filling vacancies on the committee; the Board of Directors approves the appointments.
  • Members serve for 3 years; the chair serves for 2 years in this capacity. The term begins after the annual business meeting and continues through the meeting in the year of expiration.