2023 Board Slate & Election

Meet the candidates, put forth by the Nominating Committee. The ballot also includes a proposed revision to the bylaws and approval of the Journal Trust Fund & Investment Committee roster. The ballot will open January 3 and close on February 1. 


Term: 2023-2025
Open Positions: 1


     Anne Burrows                      Ralph Marcucio 

Board of Directors

Term: 2023-2026
Open Positions: 4


       Kirsten Brown                   Doug Gould                Rachel Menegaz              Allison Nesbitt


 Olusegun Oyedele             Joy Reidenberg             Adam Wilson                Janine Ziermann              

Student/Postdoc Director

Term: 2023-2026
Open Positions: 1 


 Casey Boothe                          Tarimobo Otobo

Current Board of Directors

See your current volunteer leaders, including terms of service.

Also See

Governing Documents

Your vote counts!

The Board Election opens January 3. Eligible members will receive ballots via email and will log in to vote by proxy. This is your opportunity and responsibility to choose your organization's volunteer leaders.

Bylaws Change

Summary of bylaws changes approved by the Board, November 11, 2022:

Proposed Bylaws Changes – Categories of Membership


  • As we pursue our Strategic Plan, AAA continues to thrive and attract a diverse and inclusive audience of members who may not be familiar with the traditional benefits or categories of association membership.
  • The categories of membership are currently stated in the bylaws.  This requires an amendment of the bylaws any time the Association would like to test and implement new membership categories to address changing demographics of its potential membership base.


  • New York’s Nonprofit Corporation Law allows AAA to provide in its bylaws that the board may determine the categories of membership and the qualifications and rights of each class of membership.
  • Allowing the board to determine the categories of membership will allow the Association to test and implement new membership categories with various benefits and associated dues and enable the Association to continue to maintain and grow its membership base.

Any change to the Bylaws regarding the rights and obligations of Members must be voted on by the membership. 

Bylaws Change Full Document

2023-2024 Proposed Journal Trust Fund & Investment Committee

Chair: Margaret McNulty, Indiana University School of Medicine
Raj Ettarh, California University of Science and Medicine
Geoff Guttman, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, El Paso
Julia Boughner, University of Saskatchewan

How were these candidates chosen?

The Call for Nominations was conducted membership-wide from August 21 through September 15, 2020. The Nominating Committee carefully reviewed the submissions and selected a slate of candidates to present to the membership, using the following criteria:

  1. To be considered, the nominee must be a member in good standing.
  2. Candidates must demonstrate career leadership within the focus areas of our strategic plan: Research; Education; Professional Development; Science Communications; Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity; and Infrastructure and Governance.
  3. Candidates are assessed on their commitment to the organization's strategic plan and contribution to a healthy and representative mix of diversity on the Board. These attributes include:
  • Demographics: gender, age, race and ethnicity, etc.
  • Geographic representation
  • Career leadership experience in the anatomical sciences
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Technology acumen
  • Organizational affiliation and diversity of media and technology represented
  • Membership type (professional, academic, or associate)
  • Executive management experience
  • Access to resources and support for the organization
  • Availability for active participation
  1. Candidates must demonstrate their access to resources and support for the organization, demonstrate they can fulfill the responsibilities of Board service, and understand the essential responsibilities of nonprofit boards.
  2. Nominees should demonstrate a history of service to the Association. Activities can include serving as an active member of a committee, event, or initiative.


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact any of the Nominating Committee members:

  • Rick Sumner (Chair), Professor, Rush University, Chicago, IL
  • Rosemary Bassey, Assistant Professor, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY
  • Rebecca Hartley, Professor, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
  • Kenneth Kramer, Associate Professor and Director, Creighton University, Omaha, NE
  • Wayne Vogl, Professor and Director, University of British Columbia