2022 Board Slate & Election

Meet the candidates, put forth by the Nominating Committee. The ballot also includes a proposed revision to the bylaws. The ballot will open January 3 and close on February 1. 


Term: 2022-2026
Positions: 1


     Raj Ettarh                    Shaun Logan       


Board of Directors

Term: 2022-2025
Open Positions: 2


Melissa Carroll                  Casey Holliday               Katherine Willmore      Tamara Franz-Odendaal

Student/Postdoc Director

Term: 2022-2025
Positions: 1 


   Andrew Cale           Tarimobo Otobo       

Program Co-Chair

Term: 2022-2026
Open Positions: 1



    Angelo Iulianella               Paul Kulesa   


Current Board of Directors

See your current volunteer leaders, including terms of service.

Also See

Governing Documents

Your vote counts!

The 2022 Board Election opens January 3. Eligible members will receive ballots via email and will log in to vote by proxy. This is your opportunity and responsibility to choose your organization's volunteer leaders.

Bylaws Change

Summary of bylaws changes approved by the Board, November 13, 2021:

         o Lack of equity among the Program Committee, Educational Affairs Committee, and Professional Development Committee is inconsistent with the tripartite mission of the AAA: Research, Teaching, and Professional Development.
         o The Board functions as the sole governing body for AAA, delegating certain responsibilities to committees and is responsible for their oversight.  Direct election of Program Co-Chairs creates a potential conflict of interest. 

         o Make the Program Committee an ad hoc committee rather than a standing committee. This change will align the Program Committee with Educational Affairs and Professional Development Committees.
         o Program Committee Co-Chair positions along with all other ad hoc committee chairs will be appointed by the Board rather than elected by the Membership.  Program Co-Chairs will no longer be members of the Board of Directors.
         o Increase the number of non-officer voting Board Members from eight (8) to 10 to maintain a total of 14 Board members, as required by our Articles of Incorporation.

Any change to the Bylaws regarding the rights and obligations of Members must be voted on by the membership. 

Bylaws Change Full Document

How were these candidates chosen?

The Call for Nominations was conducted membership-wide from August 21 through September 15, 2020. The Nominating Committee carefully reviewed the submissions and selected a slate of candidates to present to the membership, using the following criteria:

  1. To be considered, the nominee must be a member in good standing.
  2. Candidates must demonstrate career leadership within the focus areas of our strategic plan: Research; Education; Professional Development; Science Communications; Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity; and Infrastructure and Governance.
  3. Candidates are assessed on their commitment to the organization's strategic plan and contribution to a healthy and representative mix of diversity on the Board. These attributes include:
  • Demographics: gender, age, race and ethnicity, etc.
  • Geographic representation
  • Career leadership experience in the anatomical sciences
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Technology acumen
  • Organizational affiliation and diversity of media and technology represented
  • Membership type (professional, academic, or associate)
  • Executive management experience
  • Access to resources and support for the organization
  • Availability for active participation
  1. Candidates must demonstrate their access to resources and support for the organization, demonstrate they can fulfill the responsibilities of Board service, and understand the essential responsibilities of nonprofit boards.
  2. Nominees should demonstrate a history of service to the Association. Activities can include serving as an active member of a committee, event, or initiative.


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact any of the Nominating Committee members:

  • Rick Sumner (Chair), Professor, Rush University, Chicago, IL
  • Rosemary Bassey, Assistant Professor, Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY
  • Rebecca Hartley, Professor, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
  • Kenneth Kramer, Associate Professor and Director, Creighton University, Omaha, NE
  • Bruce Wainman, Professor and Director, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada