Voting in the 2021 Board election ends February 1

2021 Board Slate & Election

Meet the candidates, put forth by the Nominating Committee. The election is open and voting ends February 1.


Term: 2021-2023
Open Positions: 1

Martine Dunnwald
Jennifer McBride

Board of Directors

Term: 2021-2024
Open Positions: 2

Casey Holliday
Samuel Marquez
L. Bruno Ruest
Lisa Taneyhill

Current Board of Directors

See your current volunteer leaders, including terms of service.

Also See

Governing Documents

Your vote counts!

The 2021 Board Election is open. Eligible members received ballots via email and may log in to vote by proxy. This is your opportunity and responsibility to choose your organization's volunteer leaders.

Vote by February 1 »

How were these candidates chosen?

The Call for Nominations was conducted membership-wide from August 21 through September 15, 2020. The Nominating Committee carefully reviewed the submissions and selected a slate of candidates to present to the membership, using the following criteria:

  1. To be considered, the nominee must be a member in good standing.
  2. Candidates must demonstrate career leadership within the focus areas of our strategic plan: Research; Education; Professional Development; Science Communications; Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity; and Infrastructure and Governance.
  3. Candidates are assessed on their commitment to the organization's strategic plan and contribution to a healthy and representative mix of diversity on the Board. These attributes include:
  • Demographics: gender, age, race and ethnicity, etc.
  • Geographic representation
  • Career leadership experience in the anatomical sciences
  • Strategic planning experience
  • Technology acumen
  • Organizational affiliation and diversity of media and technology represented
  • Membership type (professional, academic, or associate)
  • Executive management experience
  • Access to resources and support for the organization
  • Availability for active participation
  1. Candidates must demonstrate their access to resources and support for the organization, demonstrate they can fulfill the responsibilities of Board service, and understand the essential responsibilities of nonprofit boards.
  2. Nominees should demonstrate a history of service to the Association. Activities can include serving as an active member of a committee, event, or initiative.


If you have any questions, please feel free to contact any of the Nominating Committee members:

  • Phil Brauer (Chair), Professor, Kansas City University of Medicine and Bioscience, Joplin, MO
  • Annita Achilleos, Research Associate, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
  • Wayne Vogl, Professor, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Bruce Wainman, Professor and Director, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, Canada
  • Carol Ward, Professor and Director, University of Missouri School of Medicine, Columbia, MO